The Mariang Maya Awards are bestowed on outstanding Sigma Deltans in recognition of their contributions to the growth and development of their professions, communities, people, country, Sorority, its Alumnae Association, and Filipino womanhood.

Introduced by the Sigma Delta Phi Alumnae Association National Board in 1983, the first award honored ten outstanding Sigma Deltans in different fields of endeavor. The Association coordinates the Award through its National Mariang Maya Awards Committee that selects a board of judges from among Mariang Maya Awardees.

The Award is named after Mariang Maya, the Filipino zarzuela written by renowned and multi-awarded literary and cultural writer Virginia R. Moreno for the Sorority’s 1953 musical production. Since August 1983, the Mariang Maya Awards are given every five years to honor outstanding sister-achievers of Sigma Delta Phi. To date, sixty Sigma Deltans are proud owners of the Mariang Maya statuette that was designed and sculpted by National Artist Napoleon Abueva.

Some of the Past Mariang Maya Awardees

Purita Kalaw Ledesma ‘35

Founded the Art Association of the Philippines

Anita Magsaysay Ho ’35

Numerous awards in local and foreign art competitions for depicting figurative abstracts of women at work

Araceli Limcaco-Dans ’47

Internationally-acclaimed oil and watercolor artist

Ofelia Gelvezon-Tequi '59

Internationally-acclaimed painter and printmaker

Felicitas Layag-Radaic ’53

Prima ballerina, first Filipino member of London’s Royal Academy of Dance

Joy Gamboa-Virata '53

Stage performer, played a leading role in establishing Repertory Philippines